Which Programming language should I learn? [Answered]

I get asked this question very frequently in various forms:

• Which programming language should I learn?
  • Which programming language is best for beginners?
  • I have no background in software engineering which coding language is most suitable for me?

I frequently get asked this question. The answer is very simple: Any.

Unlike the natural languages, learning the programming language is not about memorizing the words and meaning. Programming languages are not to be memorized. Instead, it is about converting the thoughts into code.

The constructs of all programming languages are almost the same. Every programming language has almost all of these features:

• Variables - Every programming language lets you define variables which can be of different types.
  • Basic Data Structures: Arrays, Dictionaries etc
  • If-else conditions
  • Loops - for, while
  • Functions and recursion
  • Classes / Objects - Defining your own data type

By learning to program, you learn to use these constructs to accomplish an objective.

Therefore, if you learn one language, shifting to another one is very quick.

No company is interested in knowing what the library functions in a programming language are. If a company during an interview asks you language specific questions, it shows immaturity on the part of the interviewer unless you are being hired for designing a compiler.

A large piece of software usually uses multiple languages. It is expected from an engineer to be able to fix and enhance such a software.

As part of the interviews, top companies such as Google, Facebook, Amazon never ask language specific questions. Instead, the questions are always about how to solve a problem using algorithms. You can always choose the programming language.